RUSSIAN UNIFIED E-VISA ALERT: A simplified entry to the Russian Federation will be available to citizens of over 50 countries in the first months of 2021. The Russia unified E-visa will be valid on the entire territory of the Russian Federation.

The majority of foreign citizens who wish to enjoy a stay in the Russian Federation are required to apply for a visa for Russia, although the type of travel document required will depend on nationality, as well as the purpose and duration of the stay. Tourists and businessmen and women intending to visit Russia for a short-term stay can now apply for Russian electronic visas, a much faster and more practical way to obtain a Russian travel authorization than the traditional Russian tourist visa.

eVisas allow visitors to apply for their Russian visa entirely online in minutes, from anywhere in the world. Passport copies, online application form, and other documents required for the visa can be submitted online.

Until now, eVisas were available for specific Russian regions. In order to visit the regions of the Far East, Kaliningrad, and St Petersburg, it was no longer necessary to present supporting documentation at a Russian embassy or consulate.

However, a unified electronic visa for Russia has also been approved and developed by the government and is expected to be launched in the first months of 2021. The E-visa will allow its holder to visit all Russian regions within one trip, essentially replacing the region-specific visas.

Who Needs a E-visa to Enter Russia?

Most foreign passport holders need to get a Russian visa to visit the country, although the type of visa for Russia required will depend on the duration and purpose of the stay. Fortunately, citizens of a number of countries can now obtain a eVisa for Russia for short-term stays by applying online in minutes.

Russia eVisas have so far allowed visitors to apply online for travel authorizations for the Far East regions, Kaliningrad Oblast region and the eVisa for St Petersburg and Leningrad region. However, the 2021 unified E-visa will grant freedom of movement across all Russian regions to its holder. eVisas for Russia are intended for the following reasons:

  • Tourism
  • Business
  • Humanitarian reasons
  • Sport relations
  • Cultural relations
  • Scientific-technical relations

Eligibility for the unified and the 3 region-specific Russia eVisa varies. This means that not all foreign nationals listed below can apply for all of the eVisas for Russia. While some citizens are eligible to obtain a nationwide, Far East, Kaliningrad Oblast, or St Petersburg / Leningrad eVisa, others can only apply for some of the eVisas. In order to find out what Russian electronic visas you’re eligible for, simply click on your nationality in the list below and read the country-specific eligibility information.

The following countries are eligible to apply for a Russian visa online in minutes:

The above foreign countries (over 50 nationalities) will be eligible for the new nationwide electronic visa. However, it is strongly recommended to check the eligibility in detail before starting the application process.

Countries not expected to benefit from any of the online visas for Russia include the United States, Canada, and the U.K..

How to Get an E-visa to Visit Russia

Applying for a Russian eVisa is quick and straightforward. Applicants will only need a reliable internet connection in order to complete the application from the comfort of their home. The electronic visa have made travel arrangements much easier for tourists from all around the world. No more queueing and long waiting times, but rather a simple online form and only 4 days processing time.

The eVisa application for Russia will allow travelers to submit all the relevant documentation online and is designed to only take minutes. Documents required for the online visa application for Russia include:

russia evisas

  • A completed online application form
  • A copy of a valid passport. The passport must be machine-readable and issued by an eligible country. The validity of the passport must be of at least 6 months from the date of application
  • The payment of the E-visa application fee by debit or credit card
  • A recent photograph in JPEG format
  • Medical insurance coverage for the entirety of the stay in Russia

Fortunately, the above documents can be uploaded at a later stage. This means that you don’t have to complete the Russia online visa application and submit all documents in one session. You can complete the application form without having all the documentation at hand — and make arrangements for the photo and health insurance, for example, at your convenience.

Requirements for a traditional tourist visa for Russia can be considerably stricter. The visa Russia requirements for tourism involve submitting supporting documentation to prove the purpose of the trip is for leisure. Before applying, travelers are required to have already finalized their travel plans, made accommodation bookings and arranged tickets for attractions, festivals, etc.

Travel Information about Russia

Russia is the largest country in the world with a territory of 17 million square kilometres. Temperatures in Russia can be extreme, with the capital Moscow regularly registering –20 °C in the coldest weeks of winter. Siberia can easily register temperatures as low as –45 °C. International tourists usually prefer to travel to Russia during the warmer months, between late May and the beginning of October.

144.5 million people currently live in Russia and although the official language is Russian, 100 other languages and dialects are spoken. The Russian Ruble is the currency of the Russian Federation.

The international emergency service number is 112, active in Russia 24/7.