the russian evisa to launch in 2021

The Russian eVisa to Launch in 2021

The new Russia eVisa is expected to launch in 2021. The electronic visa will offer travelers from certain eligible countries access to certain regions of Russia in the far east of the country.

Travelers will be able to quickly apply online for the Russia eVisa by completing an online form and paying a fee using a credit or debit card. The form will only take a matter of minutes and will involve entering information such as the traveler’s full name, date of birth, passport details, and travel plans.

Eligible travelers will be able to enter 8 regions in the far east of Russia for periods of up to 8 days for tourism and business purposes. The parts of Russia the eVisa will offer access to are: Primorsky Krai, Kamchatka Krai, Sakhalin Oblast, Amur Oblast, Khabarovsk Krai, Chukotka Autonomous Okrug, Zabaykalsky Krai, and Buryatia.

Citizens of 18 countries will be eligible for the new Russia eVisa including travelers from China, India, and Mexico. More countries may be added to the list over the months leading up to the launch of the eVisa.

How Will Travelers Apply for the Russia eVisa?

Once the eVisa for Russia has been launched travelers from eligible countries will be able to apply online in minutes. Though the application form has not been finalized, it is likely to include a range of questions about the applicant’s personal details, their passport information, and their travel plans. Applicants may also need to provide some supporting documentation.

Applicants will need to submit their application between 20 and 4 days before their trip to allow enough time for their application to be processed. To finalize the application it will be necessary to pay a visa fee using a credit or debit card.

To minimize the chances of delays and complications, applicants will need to carefully enter and revise all the information they provide before they submit the application. Even very small mistakes such as mistyped names and numbers could potentially lead to visa denials.

Once a visa application has been processed, all correspondence such as updates, notifications, and approved eVisas will be sent to travelers by email (to the email address provided on the application form).

What Will the Russia eVisa Requirements Be?

To meet the Russia eVisa requirements, applicants will need to provide some supporting documentation. Although this documentation has not been finalized yet, it is likely to include the applicant’s passport and a passport-style photo.

The passport will need to have a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of entry into Russia. It will also need to have 2 blank pages for stamps. Applicants will need to use the same passport for completing the application and for entering Russia as the eVisa is only valid when presented with the corresponding passport.

The photo applicants provide will also need to meet certain specification. It will need to be a standard passport-style photograph (3.5 x 4.5 cm) and it will need to have been taken within the last 6 months. The photo will need to be in color and taken against a plain white background.

Which Ports Will Travelers Be Able to Access with the eVisa?

Once an eVisa has been approved, travelers will be able to enter a number of ports by presenting their eVisa along with their passport. The eVisa will grant travelers access to the ports in the following regions:

Primorsky Krai

  • Vladivostok International Airport
  • Vladivostok sea passenger terminal
  • Posyet sea port
  • Zarubino sea port
  • Khasan Station railway checkpoint
  • Makhalino station railway checkpoint
  • Grodekovo Station railway checkpoint
  • Poltavka road checkpoint
  • Turiy Rog road checkpoint

Kamchatka Krai

  • Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky sea port
  • Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky Airport

Amur Oblast

  • Blagoveshchensk Airport

Khabarovsk Krai

  • Khabarovsk Novy Airport

Chukotka Autonomous Okrug

  • Ugolny Airport (Anadyr)

Zabaykalsky Krai

  • Kadala Airport (Chita)


  • Baikal International Airport (Ulan-Ude)